

Research Committee Report for the ASM 2014

The research committee was formed in 2010 with Professor Shervanthi Homer Vanniasinkam as inaugural chair. Much of the recent success of the RC represents the fruition of her vision. A research strategy was developed that involved offering

large research awards at key stages of a potential academic surgeon's career. Thus the Presidents Early Career Award (PECA) was introduced for new consultants and senior lecturers within 5 years of appointment. The George Davies Visionary Award was available for researchers exiting their period of full time research and returning to clinical practice - a particularly vulnerable time when reach is often abandoned. The Surgeon-Scientist Award is available for new researchers just starting their

period of full-time research. Thus all 3 of the key phases of a young researcher's career are supported with run through awards.

Much of the work of the research committee involves deciding how many awards we can make each year (we are completely dependent on the help of the Circulation Foundation for this) and then organising adverts, review of applications by the committee, external review and finally interviews.

This year we are giving 2 awards - a Surgeon-Scientist Award that will be jointly funded by the Royal College of Surgeons of England and a President's Award that will be funded by George Davies and named the George Davies Early Career Award (GDECA).

We also track the academic success of our awardees. They have been enormously successful and have turned the 500K of research money that we have given out into 2.4M by securing further grants from national research charities. This is an incredible achievement and supports the strategy of concentrating our limited resources into a small number of large awards that really make a difference.

The Vascular Society 35-43 Lincoln's Inn Fields London WC2A 3PE

T: 0207 869 6936 E: office@vascularsociety.org.uk www.vascularsociety.org.uk

OF GREAT BRITAIN AND IRELAND